Two Gas Lights

Many may not remember it, but most homes, especially in the cities were lit by natural gas. Indeed, I have been told that it was at least partially because of anger at the gas company that Edison was so determined to build a practical electric light. It seems that the gas company kept turning off the gas at his factory for lack of payment.

I have no idea how much truth there is in that, but it sounds good. Regardless, gas was pretty reliable. In the time I lived here, or anywhere for that matter, I have never experienced an interruption of natural gas. Odd, though it cannot be seen or smelled, it seems as reliable as the Rock of Gibraltar.

I was reminded of this again, today. Indeed, I am using my pad because my desktop has no power and hasn’t for many hours. I am probably going to have to throw out all my food because some truck driver was not aware that his big rig would fit under the wires that supply my house, and perhaps a thousand or so others. (but who cares about the others? )

I still have gas, but not light. This makes me think maybe we all need at least two old gas lights. One would be in the living room, one in the bathroom. When some mindless truck driver interrupts the flow of electricity to my home, I break out the matches and light the old gas lights as they did many years ago.

You say electricity doesn’t go out that much. Near as I figure, it’s about two or three times a year.

Well I solved the light problem. Now what do we do about the spoiled food and HVAC? As I have said before in my posts, I don’t like hot and I don’t like cold.

Not Fun

I was being good. I got up early to cut the grass. Okay, I about had to. The grass was getting high as well as the temperature. I did not want to have to cut it in the afternoon or at night. Too hot in afternoons. Too dark at night.

At any rate, I was almost ready as I just put my second shoe on. Suddenly I felt a little sting behind my knee. I didn’t think much of it and rubbed at it. It got to really hurting bad and I pulled my cuff up.

I had heard of those brown recluse spiders and how bad their bites hurt so bad so quickly. I began wondering if I was gonna need to pay a visit to the E-room. Those brown recluses are sometimes deadly.

Then I heard a buzzing, looked up, and saw something darting around near the ceiling. As my focus zeroed in, I realized I was just stung by a wasp.

Well, I guess I was relieved. It wasn’t the dreaded recluse, but it still hurt, badly. As said in the title, not fun.

I put some ice on it, but mind you, that sun was warming things up and that grass is growing so fast you can see it. Do I remove the ice and mow the grass or do I sit there and ice my painful wound.

Well, the lawn won. I was a marine. I can take the little pain of a wasp. Now the complaints and scornful looks of neighbors?

On a side note, I outlasted the mower’s battery this morning. I guess after 4 or 5 years, it’s time to replace the battery as the charge lasts half as long as new. Then again I just might get one more season out of it.

As I mentioned before, my wife has said I think too much. I guess most would leave it all there. Me. I must think about it. I must ask questions to which there will never be any answers.

How in the world did that mini monster get in the house?

By the way, I was wearing long trousers. How did that thing manage to sneak up the inside of my pant leg without me realizing it?

Daily writing prompt
What notable things happened today?

As Evil as Hitler?

Repeatedly, I hear people say this man or that man is as bad as Hitler.

Well, let’s see. Just what measure do we use to see who is it that really is like Hitler.

Actually, Hitler was but one of the really bad evil men of the day. Hitler took his lead from Italian dictator, Mussolini. I mean Hitler was well on his way, but he raised his head, looked around, and decided he liked what was going on in Italy.

Then there was Hedeki Tojo. He was the Japanese general who had designs on controlling the entire South Pacific, including Australia. Oh, and by the way, he was already pushing into Eastern Russia and Alaska.

I ask, why is it that people don’t say, “so&so is as bad as Tojo?” It’s always Hitler is the benchmark.

To be sure, there are people in the world today who are evil, maybe even more evil than Hitler, more evil than Musolini, and yes, more evil than Tojo.

I’m not going to call names but rather explain the evil. It’s not new, you know. Let’s see. Who was the character with the fiddle, the one that played it while Rome burned?

Actually, I think he wasn’t the only evil Roman ruler. It just is he is the only one I can think of off the top of my noggin. Please, let’s not forget the Spanish inquisition, which likely killed a bunch of folks because they refused to be Catholic. Oh, I am sure there are many that would like us to forget that one.

You see, evil has, does and will continue to exist until Jesus Christ, Himself puts a stop to it at his second coming.

It exist, firstly because man is evil. No need teach a child to lie, steal or hurt others. It comes naturally. Indeed, a child must be taught not to do these things. If not taught and trained, and disciplined, he very likely will become a monster, conceivably like Hitler, only without all the power. To be sure, even those who are brought up properly can become horrible.

Many of them grow up to be just as bad as Tojo, Musolini, and yes, Hitler. They just don’t have the power, the following, or maybe they don’t have the charisma.

President Trump had the power. He had the following. It’s sort of how you can tell what kind of man he is. He used his position of authority to improve this country, and the world.

The evil people increase taxes. He decreased them. Evil people start wars to gain power. He quickly brought wars to ends and started none. Evil people seek to gain power. Trump was always trying to return power to the people and the states.

Certainly, we should not forget, there is an evil power in this world seeking to give it to evil people. He used to be a very attractive angel. Today he is a demon. He destroys every life he can. He does it through evil people, like Nero, like Hitler, and yes, given the chance, like the Catholic church.

Don’t tell me Trump is evil as Hitler. He had the chance to do evil but he only did good. For this, Satan and his hords of evil doing people have done everything that they can do to destroy him. Now, trying to destroy a man who did only good, that is evil. It is what the likes of the Soviets did. They were not natzi, but they were as bad if not worse.

The Leadership of Pollsters?

There is an earth shaking decision to be made. Immediately, the order is made, “Ask the pollsters. And tell them hurry.”

Is it possible. Is it probable. Can it be that we are the nation being ruled by the pollsters. I guess, in a way, that is ruling by the people. That is to say, if the polls are fair and accurate.

Just how much is the poll being colored by the pollster. The choice of how the question is worded can make a 5 or maybe 10 points difference.

Of course, this is tongue & cheek. Still, I do wonder how many decisions are made based on polls. Consider the border. There was nothing on earth that would change the mind of Old Joe, or the dems for that matter. They are determined to increase their voter base.

Then, what? 5 months from the election, suddenly, Old Joe wants to send illegal aliens home.

Remember, nothing on earth could alter Joe’s mind. Well. Maybe that isn’t so. You see, 5 men with fancy brief cases and charts walk into the Oval Office and, instantly, Joe changed his mind.

Those 5 men, or was it 6. no one knows for sure. They must have been awfully powerful guys. They must have had some very convincing numbers, facts and figures.

Now, Old Joe is in a quandary. How does he keep the border open while blaming it on the Republicans. Then one of his brilliant yes men says, “I have an idea. We get that bill passed the Republicans shot down.”

Old Joe says, “That won’t work, will it. I mean, it didn’t work before.”

Another yes man jumps in. “We get the media to apply a lot of pressure. They paint them as obstructionist.”

And so it is, they march out the politicians and put them on the talk shows. Then a few weeks later, Old Joe has his visitors again.

Guess what. Suddenly Joe is talking really deporting illegal aliens. I mean, he’s not really going to do it. It will all be done with smoke and mirrors. All the while he deports them, he’ll be sneaking them in at night on big jets.

Well, so we see, the pollsters don’t really run the country, though sometimes it appears that way. That Old Joe, his puppetmasters are just too smart for those that do the polls.

For What Reason?

Thousands died because of the methods and procedures employed by Old Joe in Afghanistan. Are we supposed feel great because he had the right reason? Do you think it makes the surviving relatives feel better that Joe’s heart was in the right place? Does it make things 1 iota better to know that Joe really had the right motives?

I didn’t lose anyone remotely close to men becauseof that fiasco. Guess what, it doesn’t make me feel any better. It was a horrible mistake from beginning to end and I believe, for that reason, he deserves to be hung by his toes until he stops breathing. Unfortunately, he will have to wait to have that justice measured out to him. I can’t say for sure, but I suspect Hell already has a place with his name on it.

Nonetheless, I keep hearing that Benjamin Natenyahu is prolonging the war for political reasons. Let’s imagine that’s right. Does that make his decision any more right or wrong? More likely, it has nothing to do with it. If it’s right, then it is right regardless of reason.

I happen to believe that Old Joe’s reasons in Afghanistan were totally political. Is that what caused his plans to blow up in his face?

The fact of the matter is Old Joe is the primary reason the war between HAMAS and Israel has gone on as long as it has. It is because of the encouraging Joe keeps giving HAMAS. If Joe had kept his nose out of it all, the war would be over…a long time ago. There would have been far less destruction. There would have been far less death. But Joe don’t care. He hasn’t lost anyone he knew.

But, as long as we are going after people for doing the wrong thing for wrong reasons, it is abundantly clear Old Joe’s political gains are right at the top for his motivation. He doesn’t want to lose Michigan in the upcoming election.

Going back to one man I really look up to and respect. The enemy trying to destroy his nation and his people. Do you really want to believe folks here, thousands of miles from the problem, know any better or have any motive more pure than Primenister Natenyahu?

Let’s Talk Statistics

That man whom socialists worship has said, killing millions is not murder, but rather a statistic. Sadly, what he said is effectively true. In every case where communism took hold, people by the millions died. Today, it is nothing more than statistics.

In the history of communism, we never use the word murder. We all speak millions killed. We all use numbers, statistics.

So now we talk to Fauci of millions killed. When asked one question he dodges. when asked another question he weaves. He is asked an accusing question and he denies. In some cases, he outright lies. He refuses to accept any guilt for the loss of real life, of real people.

President Trump, as president saved lives, and he is falsely accused. He is driven through a totally dem kangaroo court where the outcome was determined before the beginning and he is held up before the public when he has done nothing wrong.

He was framed in Russia, Russia, and now that is well known. Words were put into his mouth to try again to remove him from office. Now, he has more accusations than I can count.

Where are the grand jury indictments against the murderer Fauci? Are the dems really so busy building frames to build a case against Fauci, a real criminal, a real murderer. Where are the indictments against Old Joe for the deaths in Afghanistan. Why does Old Joe not have to answer for the crimes and deaths caused by illegal aliens. Will he not answer for the dirty bombs set off by the Iranians who just walked across the border, should it happen some time in the future?

No. Of course not. The Soros District attorneys are too busy going after Trump and his supporters. The federal attorneys are too busy prosecuting Republicans who just happen to be in DC on Jan 6.

They do make a false assumption. They don’t think there is a God. They think they will get away with their deeds. However, in the end, they will face the Creator of this universe. When they do, they will realize the uselessness of opening their mouth in any attempt at defense.

Say what you will about Trump, he tried, and to some degree, he did make the country and even the world a safer, better place.

I don’t think he did anything wrong concerning Russia, Russia, Russia. I certainly don’t think he did anything wrong concerning Stormy Daniel. But even if he did, I think I’d ignore it in light of the good he did.

Note: It wasn’t until Old Joe occupied The Oval Office that people started dying, by statistics, bunches.

What a Frustrating Question

Winter is too cold. Summer is too hot. Fall and spring are just right but the pollen drives me nuts. I chose the wrong part of the country for me to settle in, given my extreme allergies to just about all forms of pollen. I am so grateful to the scientist for developing those antihistamines. Without them I would have to start living on ships.

On the other hand, summer brings swimming and baseball. Fall brings a lot of colorful leaves and the snap of the crisp cold evenings. With winter, I need not fight flies and mosquitos. Spring brings the flowers and the chirping birds.

Now with all that, how in the world am I to make up my mind?

One thing I will say, whatever season is next, I’m always looking forward to it.

Daily writing prompt
What is your favorite season of year? Why?

More Electric Outlets, Pretty Please

If someone asked me if I could have one wish for my home, I would reply, “More outlets please, and more easily accessed.”

I don’t know what it would cost, but I would have to say at least 3,000 dollars to rewire my home. So, if the house needs to be rewired, may as do it right. All the aluminum would need to come out. If I knew they used aluminum, the house would have remained vacant.

Every place where there is a double outlet, I want four. I no longer have cable. However, when I had AT&T cable, each of the following had to be plugged into an extension chord. The TV, The gateway, the DVD player, and the adapter for the TV. I’m really not sure. I just might have left something out. At any rate, the extension chord was plugged into one side of the double outlet.

Moreover, every time I needed to access one or more plugs, it was no fun. Actually, it was a neusance.

The kitchen has got at least twice as many appliances as outlets and only two are accessible. The outlet for the stove is behind it and the thing keeps coming unplugged. Every time it does, I must pull the stove out. My wife actually likes that. It does gives her a chance to clean behind it.

If I were so fortunate to have a house built for me, I would have far more outlets and they would all be accessible, even if behind the bed or couch. They don’t have to show. Covers could be designed to cover it all. Then they could be flipped out of the way to gain accessed.

My current house was built in the early 70s. It was a different time without computers or fridges with ice makers. I must watch the balance of my load or I’ll trip a breaker. When I used my central air conditioner, it tripped one of the main breakers every few weeks anyway. I had an electrician look at it and he basically said I need to rewire my house, which I already knew.

Here’s a thought right off the top of my head. How about a switch to control 3 or 4 sets of outlets. I would like a switch on each one. that way, if I need to open that individual outlet box, I could turn it off right next to the outlet and connect the ground wire the builder neglected to connect. Also, the switch could double as a circuit breaker as on the modern extension chords. That can’t be that expensive.

Hydro Mousse

New idea on how to grow a really nice lawn, maybe perfect.

  1. start out by pouring about 1 to 2 inches of concrete in the area where you want the lawn.
  2. After the concrete is well set, spray some of that Hydro Mousse all over the concrete.
  3. Water regularly.
  4. In a few weeks, you’ll have a nice beautiful green lawn.

You doubt it? You see the advertisement on TV? They grew the stuff on concrete blocks… upside down. Ought to grow even better right side up. The neat part is that there will be no weeds. If there were any, they wouldn’t be able to grow in the concrete.

Sorry. Might be a little expensive.